The Ethiopian Flag

While Ethiopia is one of the oldest and most historical regions on earth, the modern Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia was only established upon its constitution being created in 1994. In 2009, and some fifteen years later, the nation established its first official flag.

The Ethiopian flag can be described as three horizontal rows of colors: green on top, yellow in the middle, and red on bottom. Perfectly centered upon the flag is a blue emblem. The blue emblem contains a yellow star inside it with rays of sunlight leaving it.

The green of the flag is representative of the lush green land of the earth. The yellow of the flag is symbolic for peace and hope. The red of the flag evokes the power and will of the Ethiopian people. The star upon the flag's emblem is said to represent unity and diversity, while the rays of sun symbolize prosperity.

The country of Ethiopia is a landlocked nation located within the Horn of Africa. Eritrea is situated to the nation's north. Djibouti and Somalia are positioned to the nation's east. Sudan can be found upon the nation's western border, and Kenya to its south. The country is home to over 80 million citizens.

Ethiopia is one of Africa's fastest growing non-oil-dependent nations. Its critical commerce crops include coffee beans and sugarcane, amongst various other agricultural products. The nation is known as the "water-tower" of Africa, due to the fact that 14 major rivers congregate upon its territory.