The Irish Flag

In 1848, several French women sympathetic to the cause of Irish freedom created the design for a flag, and presented it to Irish Nationalist leader Thomas Francis Meagher. Several years later, during Ireland's war of independence, this exact design was adopted as the Ireland's official flag. The year was 1919.

The Irish flag can be described as three vertical rows composed of green, white, and orange. The green color of the flag is said to symbolize Ireland's mode of government, republicanism. The white color of the flag represents a truce of peace between all the citizens of Ireland. The orange color represents the British supporters of William of Orange who settled in Northern Ireland in the 17th century.

Ireland is an island nation located in the Atlantic Ocean, to the northwest of continental Europe. The island is divided into two parts: one that is possessed by the Republic of Ireland, and Northern Ireland, which is a part of the United Kingdom. The island has lush vegetation, a product of its mild but changeable oceanic climate, which avoids extremes in temperature. Dublin is the capital of the island, as well as its most populated city. There are nearly 7 million inhabitants upon the "Emerald Isle" as the nation is commonly referred to.

Livestock cultivation and the creation of textiles remain two major industries in Ireland. St. Patrick's Day is a holiday is revered and widely celebrated throughout the island. Gaelic football, an indigenous version the game of soccer, is the main sport of the nation and is widely popular amongst the Irish. The national anthem of the country is known as "The Soldier's Song".