The Italian Flag

The modern Italian flag was adopted on January 1st, 1948, by decree of the newly forged Constitution of the Republic of Italy. Prior to this date, the country of Italy had had several different forms of government, and because of this, several different flag variations. All of these precursor flags maintained the same color scheme of what was to ultimately become the countries' official modern flag.

The flag of Italy can be described as three vertical rows composed of green, white, and red. It is referred to as the "tricolore italiano", or the "Italian tricolor", for this reason. The green color of the flag is said to symbolize the plains and hills of the Mediterranean nation. The white color of the flag symbolizes the snow covered Alps, which is a mountain range situated in the countries northern region. The red color of the flag represents the blood of Italians that were spilt in the Italian Wars of Independence.

Italy is located in the southern part of Europe, and comprises the Italian peninsula, which famously looks like a "boot". Directly located to Italy's north are the nations of Austria and Switzerland. The Mediterranean Sea surrounds the rest of the country. The capital of Italy is Rome, the storied capital of the old Roman Empire.

Over 60 million citizens make up the population of Italy. A major industry within the country is its wine industry, as it is the second largest wine producer in the world. The national anthem of Italy is known in Italian as “The Song of Italians”.