The Mexican Flag

While the modern Mexican flag was made official on September 16, 1968, its design truly has not been altered much since its prototype was created in 1821, the first year of Mexico's sovereignty as a nation. Since then, the flag has only undergone four minor revisions.

The flag of Mexico can be described as three vertical columns of the colors green, white, and red. In the middle of the white vertical column, the image of Mexico's national coat of arms is placed. The national coat of arms portrays a GoldenEagle perched atop a prickly pear cactus devouring a snake. This is intended to be a representation of the Mexican people conquering all things evil.

This image of an eagle attacking a snake is also an Aztec religious symbol, a tribe of indigenous peoples that used to reside in present day Mexico. Coincidentally, the capital of Mexico, Mexico City, is also where the ancient Aztecan capital of Tenochtitlan once stood.

The nation of Mexico is located on the very southern part of North America, with the United States of America to its Northern border, and the country of Guatemala to its southern border. As stated earlier, its capital is Mexico City, and the entire nation is comprised of over 112 million people.

Mexico has the 13th largest economy in the world. Surprisingly, they have recently passed both Canada and the United States of America as North America's leading auto-producing nation. The national anthem of Mexico is entitled "Himno Nacional Mexicano".